Royal Birkdale







Royal Birkdale


Royal Birkdale has held more championship and international events since World War II than any other course in the world. Founded 132 years ago in 1889 as Birkdale Golf Club, the club was awarded “Royal” status in 1951. In 1946, the club hosted its first big championship in the Amateur Championship.

During the immediate post-war era, the club also hosted the 1948 Curtis Cup and the 1951 Walker Cup, both of which were won by the United States. With these successful stagings of important events, Royal Birkdale was deemed ready for its first Open Championship in 1954 and has held its place on The Open rota ever since.

Course Rankings

World’s Top 100: 40
Britain’s Top 100: 12
England’s Top 100: 3

Book Your Tour

We provide a bespoke one-to-one concierge service that ensures your tour is a truly memorable one.

Royal Birkdale

Winners of The Open here include some of the greatest golfers of all time, such as Tom Watson, Lee Trevino and Arnold Palmer. The course has hosted the women’s Open six times and the Senior Open Championship in 2013. Birkdale has also been host to the Ryder Cup (1965, 1969), Walker Cup (1951) and Curtis Cup (1948).

A visit to Royal Birkdale is a fantastic experience. You will undoubtedly enjoy the challenge of playing this wonderful golf course. If you keep the ball straight, in amongst the towering dunes, you have a chance to shoot a good score. It is a very fair course with excellent greens and plenty of chances for birdies.